The Division for Planetary Sciences (DPS) gave the 2018 Harold Masursky Award for meritorious service to planetary science to Faith Vilas (National Science Foundation). Dr. Vilas is the Deputy PI for SSERVI’s Toolbox for Research and Exploration (TREX) team led by Amanda Hendrix at the Planetary Science Institute (PSI) in Tucson, AZ. “Dr. Vilas is highly regarded in the planetary science community for her outstanding scientific contributions as well as the many ways in which she generously gives of her time to serve others. SSERVI joins with so many others to congratulate Faith for winning the prestigious Masursky Award from the DPS this year,” said SSERVI Director, Yvonne Pendleton.

During a time of national duress following the chaos of the 9/11 attack, Dr. Vilas insured the integrity of the Discovery program selection process. As the first Chair of the NASA Small Bodies Assessment Group, she established its operational practices and made it the viable entity that continues today. As Chair of the DPS, Vilas played a key role in establishing the Carl Sagan Medal, which was the first major statement in support of the importance of communicating our science with the public. She has mentored and inspired young people who have become well-known figures in our profession, and others who have taken an appreciation of our science into other careers. She has served on numerous Academy and NASA panels. Her service to the field and to society has been exemplary.

About the Harold Masursky Award
This prize is awarded annually by the Division for Planetary Sciences (DPS) of the American Astronomical Society.
• The Harold Masursky Award for Meritorious Service to Planetary Science was established by the DPS to recognize and honor individuals who have rendered outstanding service to planetary science and exploration through engineering, managerial, programmatic, or public service activities.
• For purposes of this award, planetary science and exploration refer to the multidisciplinary study of our solar system and its members, as well as other planetary systems and their members, excluding work dealing primarily with the Sun or the Earth.
• Candidates for the Masursky Award may be of any age or nationality, and need not be members of the DPS. While primarily intended to honor living people, a posthumous nomination may be submitted within one year of a nominee’s death.
• The Masursky Award is generally given for accomplishments outside of the normal work duties of the nominee.
• The recipient of the Masursky Award will be selected by the DPS Committee.
• The Masursky Award will consist of a certificate and a cash award, in an amount to be determined by the DPS Committee. Under special circumstances, travel expenses in association with the presentation of the award may also be supported.
• The Masursky Award will normally be presented to the recipient at the annual meeting of the DPS.

For more info, visit:

Posted by: Soderman/SSERVI Staff
Source: DPS

Tagged with:  
Share →

ELS 2022

NESF 2022


NESF ELS Graphic

NESF 2023

LunGradCon 2022

LunGradCon Graphic

LSSW – Virtual

Upcoming Events

Check back soon!

SSERVI Team Science

Did you know?

On July 20, 1969, Neil Armstrong became the first person to set foot on the Moon.

Read More