Our next LUNAR webinar will be next week, on Tuesday Oct 30th at noon, Mountain Time (2pm Eastern, 11am Pacific). Note the unusual day of the week, and please mark your calendars! Ravi Subrahmanyan will be joining us to talk about probing reionization.

Date: Tues. 30th Oct. 2012
Time: Noon, Mountain Time (2pm Eastern, 11am Pacific, 18:00 UTC)
URL: https://connect.arc.nasa.gov/r9d3nejy85x/
How to connect: Just go to the URL above. You will be prompted to install the free Adobe Connect applet if you don’t have it already.

Speaker: Ravi Subrahmanyan (NRAO/RRI)

Title: Steps to the reionization epoch

Abstract:
Precision measurements of the cosmic radio background are key to issues concerning the cosmic evolution of gas and galaxies across Hubble time. Perhaps most widely known is the highly redshifted 21-cm spatial and spectral signature, which is predicted to arise from events at the cosmic dawn that are associated with the formation of first stars and galaxies and their impact on the gas. There are many ongoing experimental efforts that attempt to detect the cosmological evolution in gas via its spectral distortions in the cosmic microwave background radiation; there are also Fourier synthesis telescopes being purpose built for detecting the spatial and velocity space fluctuations in redshifted 21-cm from the epoch of re-ionization. The signatures are trace features that are a tiny fraction of the cosmic radio background and designing purpose-built radio telescopes for their detection presents a formidable challenge. I will describe progress in the development of some systems for detecting the epoch of reionization – SARAS: a shaped antenna experiment, ZEBRA: a zero-spacing interferometer, and MWA: the Murchison Widefield Array.

The current schedule and connection details for LUNAR webinars can always be found on the LUNAR website.

Posted by: Soderman/NLSI Staff
Source: NLSI LUNAR Team

Share →

Carbon Workshop

ELS 2018

NESF 2018

Lunar Landing Workshop

Upcoming Events

June 2018


American Astronomical Society
June 3-7 (Denver, CO)

Asia Oceania Geosciences Society
June 3-8 (Honolulu, HI)

Cryovolcanism in the Solar System Workshop
June 5-7 (Houston, TX)

International Symposium on Lunar & Planetary Science 2018
June 11-13 (Macau, China)

Workshop in Geology and Geophysics of the Solar System
June 23- July 1 (Petnica Science Center, Petnica, Serbia)

Exploration Science Forum
June 26-28 (NASA Ames)
View More Upcoming
View Past Events

SSERVI Team Science

  • SSERVI Announces 2017 Award Winners

    3-12-15_awards

    Congratulations to Maria Zuber, Lawrence Taylor, Adrienne Dove, Samuel Lawrence and Angioletta Coradini for their achievements and contributions.

Did you know?

The largest impact feature on the Moon is not one of the prominent "seas" that face the Earth, but the huge SPA Basin on the farside.

Read More