The Geological Society of America awarded M. Darby Dyar of SSERVI’s RIS4E team with the prestigious 2016 Gilbert Award.

Congratulations from all of us at SSERVI!

About M. Darby Dyar
Darby Dyar is researching Earth’s Moon, and how hydrogen and oxygen are distributed throughout our solar system, particularly in terrestrial bodies such as the Earth, the Moon, Mars, and the parent bodies of meteorites. Dyar uses several different types of spectroscopy to study rocks that originated from 90- to 0-km depth in the Earth, as well as lunar rocks and Martian meteorite samples collected from Antarctica. Read more here.

The award was made for outstanding contributions to the solution of a fundamental problem(s) of planetary geology in its broadest sense, including planetary geology, geochemistry, mineralogy, petrology, andtectonics, geophysics, and the field of meteoritics. Such contributions consisted of outstanding publications that have had great influence on the field.

The award is named for G. K. Gilbert, who over one hundred years ago clearly recognized the importance of a planetary perspective in solving terrestrial geological problems.

The award consists of an engraved plaque and an appropriate certificate, which is recommended by the management board of the Division, and approved by the GSA Council. A person selected by and familiar with the Recipient’s work presents a citation reviewing the contributions of the Recipient.


Year Name
2015 Matthew P. Golombek
2014 William B. McKinnon
2013 Alan D. Howard
2012 Peter H. Schultz
2011 Steve Squyres
2010 Carle Pieters
2009 Robert Strom
2008 Philip Christensen
2007 Maria Zuber
2006 Michael J. Gaffey
2005 Lionel Wilson
2004 William K. Hartmann
2003 Roger Phillips
2002 James Head
2001 H. Jay Melosh
2000 Larry Soderblom
1999 Sean Solomon
1998 John B. Adams
1997 Ronald Greeley
1996 Robert P. Sharp
1995 Baerbel Lucchitta
1994 S. Ross Taylor
1993 Michael Carr
1992 John A. Wood
1991 John Guest
1990 Harold Masursky
1989 Harrison Schmitt
1988 Donald Wilhelms
1987 Donald Gault
1986 Ralph B. Baldwin
1985 Walter Alvarez
1984 George Wetherill
1983 Eugene M. Shoemaker

Posted by: Soderman/SSERVI Staff
Source: SSERVI Team

Tagged with:  
Share →

ELS 2023

NESF 2022


NESF ELS Graphic

NESF 2023

LunGradCon 2022

LunGradCon Graphic

LSSW – Virtual

Upcoming Events

Check back soon!

SSERVI Team Science

  • 2020 Moon Maps


    These Moon Maps highlight areas to explore on International Observe the Moon Night.

Did you know?

The moon's deepest craters are 4,500 meters (15,000 ft).

Read More