Four SSERVI awards are given each summer during the annual NASA Exploration Science Forum. The awards range in scope from lifetime achievements to early career contributions in Exploration Science. Nominations from the community are strongly encouraged. Please click on each award below for the award description and nomination criteria.
Nominees do not need to reside in the U.S. or be a U.S. citizen; nor do they need to be a member of a SSERVI Team. The Director of SSERVI, upon recommendations by a SSERVI Awards Committee, is responsible for the final selection of SSERVI award recipients. Any nominee who is not selected will automatically become a candidate for consideration the following two years if they still meet the award criteria.
Nominations are due March 31st each year.
SSERVI is currently looking for nominees for the following awards:

Shoemaker Medal

The Eugene Shoemaker Distinguished Scientist Medal is an annual award given to a scientist who has significantly contributed throughout the course of their career to understanding the Moon and small bodies in our solar system.

Wargo Award

The Michael J. Wargo Exploration Science Award is an annual award given to an exploration-oriented investigator or engineer who has significantly contributed to the integration of exploration and planetary science throughout their career.

Coradini Award

The Angioletta Coradini Mid-Career Award is an annual award given to a researcher for significant, lasting accomplishments related to Solar System exploration science.

Niebur Award

The Susan Mahan Niebur Early Career Award is an annual award given to an investigator early in their career for significant contributions to exploration science.